Radar Fanatic

Default California RX65 settings?

Hi! I'm kind of new to all of this so please do not give me a hard time for asking such newbie like questions please.

I bought an rx65 pro about 3 weeks ago and after driving it through town and up and down the local highway to work and back every day I have noticed that every cop in the area only uses KA band. I have not yet gotten one x or k band cop.

What is the chance that no cops in the area use K band and all cops use ka?

Today I altered the settings to:
    Fastbootup: On
    Speech: Off
    autoMute: On
    Display settings are normal.
    X band: Off
    K band: Off
    Ka band: USA
    Ku band: Off
    SWS: Off
    Pop: On

I have enjoyed the fact that today I have had no false warnings because K band is off (Just about every super market uses K band. Only one place I have found uses X.) and Ka has caught just about all cops I have seen so far.

I live in Northern California (Santa Rosa area) and is it just too risky and stupid to turn K band off? Also, do cops in cali use POP?

I'm thinking about turning Ka to Intl, that way I will not miss any cops, just in case, and I am thinking about turning POP off. When there is a POP alert does it say "POP" or how do I know it is even being used?

Thanks for bearing with my stupid questions.

Yoda of Radar

I don't live in Cali, but my suggestion would be turn back on K band ASAP (before you get hit with it), and live with the extra falses by supermarkets and such.

It is very possible that around you many of the LEO's use Ka band (its becoming more and more popular), however, with that said... K band (nationwide) is still to this day the most widely used radar band there is out there by law enforcement, so I would not advise leaving it off... especially since people in the list -below- have encountered it (which, again, is to be expected). http://radardetector.net/List-of-ban...e-U.S-589t.php