Newcomer

Default RX65 - K band from Traffic Info signs

I was wondering at what distance the Traffic Info signs get (usually) detected by a Bel RX65 and how they actually disperse their signal over the road.

I just bought mine and I am not very experienced (yet). It's constantly on Highway mode, all bands on. There is some major roadwork going on here so they put up those traffic info signs saying to slow down etc. and they give out a K-band alert. Well, I don't know at what distance they are supposed to be detected. I get one bar of K-band at about 300 yards (or 300 meter) and rising up to full alert as I get closer in the next few seconds. Then when I came back I was on the opposite side of the highway of course, two lane's both ways and in the middle a grass plain the width of about 4 lanes. Now it doesn't detect anything when I come back which I thought was kinda odd.

Do you have to mount it at a different place for a better RADAR detection? They don't use Laser here so I got only a single false from another SUV once in a while. I mounted it first pretty low on the windshield but since it's a low car (Buick Park Avenue) I tried mounting it higher on the windshield with slightly better detection (the weather conditions changed though). Or is radar only directed into a certain beam and there is low scattering of the radio signal?

It detected a LEO from about 500m (500 yards) on Ka 1-3 bars hiding in an anal 40-zone, I didn't have to pass him. And another LEO driving on the opposite side of the road tagging everyone with a one-bar Ka and then as he passed me he must have shot me because it went all of a sudden to 5 and dropped down again.

I was just wondering if this was normal behaviour or should it detect earlier/farther?