Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Good Citizen

Default Random STi thoughts, plus firmware upgrade in Mississauga?

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I've tried searching the archives, and found nothing conclusive other than a Mississauga address.

I made an impulse buy at a truck stop in North Carolina this weekend and now have an STi. As expected, it was a really early serial, with A1M7 software. Good price, though. (Yes, I was going to buy from Roy, but I had a few hundred USD cash on hand that needed to be spent.)

I'm an RD newbie, but after about 3 hours of driving in NC and VA with the thing, here are my thoughts:

- Lots of K falsing when passing truck stops on Highway mode in the state of NC. Not so many in VA. What am I picking up? Craparas and/or door openers?

- I haven't seen much of the Ka falsing that's been spoken about with A1M7, though the "extra sensitive" Ka might be beneficial because I'm going to be primarily be using it in Ontario and Quebec where other RDs are very, very rare.

- The unit doesn't seem to run hot. I hope it doesn't crap out on me.

Any point in madly pursuing a firmware update from BEL?

Anyone in Toronto with an actual success story getting their STi updated by visiting the BEL office? I've read all kinds of stories about shipping to the US, getting the corporate runaround, etc.

Is it worth the effort to update to A4M9?

I'm really looking forward to participating in this, uhh, community.

Advanced Member

I tried to get my A2 updated at the Mississauga site but they have cracked down on the office and will refer you back to the Bel US number. That was about 8 weeks ago. If you are in the area you might drop by and see if they will do it for you. Just tell them you're getting the Service Req'd message.

Yes the A1 version as you've found out is plagued by falses especially on the US highways where crap Rds are plentiful

Advanced Member

Welcome to the Forum.............

IMHO Bel Canada (Mississauga) will not assist you.