Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Newcomer

Default truck driver & have ? about STI driver

Hi everybody.
    I am a semi driver and have been monitoring this site for quite sometime and don't post much but do research ALOT here and this site is awesome with some very knowledgable poeple. My first question is when most of you on this site talk about your detection distances, are you talking about from time of detection to site of LEO or what? The reason I ask is because a LEO traveling toward you will cover half the distance and meet you in the middle, unlike a stationary LEO. So if you get an alert and 1.5 mile down the road you meet the LEO traveling toward you going the opposite direction, isn't that actually considered a 3 mile alert?? I have gotten 2 1/4 mile 33.8 ghz alert from my V995 in Iowa from a LEO sitting in the middle of the road, and this was over the crest of a hill also! But I have also gotten an alert on a straighter stretch on the same highway from one coming towards me and met him 2 miles after my first alert. This would be 4 miles. Is this correct?
    My second question is NOT considering the fact that the STI is undetectable, is the detection range in the real world much more noticable than a good S7 V995?? I am looking at getting a STI but not sure that the price difference is worth the extra range.? Anyone with experience with both would be great. I am not trying to start a 995 vrs. STI topic here so please dont go there, but is it worth it? Thanks for any help you guys can give.
    stamp4

Radar Fanatic

If you're driving a semi the best bet would be the STi. When I write about the range I experience with an oncoming LEO its always double the distance from the first beep to the point where I meet the LEO. While not an exact distance, I usually slow down to within 5 of PSL if i think an alert is real and assuming the LEO is within 5mph too.

Yoda of Radar

The STi is quite a vit more sensitive than the V995: