Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bel 895

Default Bel 895

Hello,

I have never purchased a radar detector and am new to them. I'm an 18 year old from Baton Rouge and since hurricane Katrina traffic rates went up so cops decided to set more speed traps up and i got 2 tickets in the last month. This means its time to get a radar detector. I've been looking at this board for ideas and saw that no one mentioned the Bel 895 that i saw at radio shack for $199. It seems like this is the same as the 985 but im not sure like i said im new to them. The only feature i noticed is that it doesn't detect K-band POP. Is this a reason not to buy this radar? Is it a good one to buy if i dont want to spend over 200? Thanks for any help.

Power User

This detector did really good on speedzones.com test. I was going to bring this detector to the GOL test back in August, but the Radio Shacks I went to did not have them in stock. It seems to be just as good as the high end Bel's without all the features. It is not the same detector as the 985. The 985 is an older detector that used to be Bel's highend model years ago.

Professional

only thing i want to say is the bel vector 895 does fasle alot when in PoP mode so if your someone like me thats hates alot of PoP FASLE ALERTS than dont buy it. but then again try it out if you dont like it get your money back!.
    the range is very good on it but the PoP fasle alerts drove me nuts STUPIED cobras

Yoda of Radar

Have you looked at the 795? Read the thread on that....seems to be really good for the money. I thought about picking one up to try out.

I was just kinda worried about the 795 because on the radio shack description i noticed that it doesnt have any POP detection on it. It's 80 dollars compared to the 895's 200 dollars. Is the POP detection worth the 120 extra dollars?

Professional

Quote Originally Posted by Juicemonkey