Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer
    Orlando, Florida Mercedez Benz E350 Bel RX65 M4 Rev 2.9

Default Bel Rx65 M4 2.9 Weird incident.

OK, I know this may sound strange, but today I removed my radar from the window, and placed it in my center console. When I returned to the car, and raised it back up, I noticed my laser going wild. I then moved my hand and the radar detector up and down until I figured out what was causing it to go off wild. It was my CD player..... For some reason, when the rear of the radar detector was facing and was close to my cd changer insert cd area, it picked up laser signals. Can someone try that in their vehicle and let me know if the same thing happens with your Laser detection. It freaked me out. I'm not technical expert, but it appears that it was dectecting the laser signal in my cd changer.

Yoda of Radar

Default Re: Bel Rx65 M4 2.9 Weird incident.

Quote Originally Posted by OrlNmE
    OK, I know this may sound strange, but today I removed my radar from the window, and placed it in my center console. When I returned to the car, and raised it back up, I noticed my laser going wild. I then moved my hand and the radar detector up and down until I figured out what was causing it to go off wild. It was my CD player..... For some reason, when the rear of the radar detector was facing and was close to my cd changer insert cd area, it picked up laser signals. Can someone try that in their vehicle and let me know if the same thing happens with your Laser detection. It freaked me out. I'm not technical expert, but it appears that it was dectecting the laser signal in my cd changer.
    Hmmm I tried 3 of mine, none of them did this. Was it when a CD was in the player, and playing... or what was the CD player doing?

Radar Fanatic

Could have been electromagnetic interference. RX65s are known to false due to airport radar so I suppose it could have been something similar.

Lead Foot