Thread: octane booster?

Professional

Default octane booster?

whats the deal with this stuff...

does it work? does it harm you car at all in the long run?

just curious since now summers started and i'll have more of a chance to hit some open highways on a few trips i need to make and a little more fun around town

Banned

Well basically if you use a octane booster you dont want to use it over and over and over again... basically I have been told that youcan use it every once in a while but consistantly will hurt your car!

Now I am no expert so I could be wrong.

Yoda of Radar

Default Re: octane booster?

Quote Originally Posted by Mackid343
    whats the deal with this stuff...

does it work? does it harm you car at all in the long run?

just curious since now summers started and i'll have more of a chance to hit some open highways on a few trips i need to make and a little more fun around town
    Octane Boosters are often used to prevent issues such as knocking/pinging or pre-det., your average car (atmoshperic cars) really dont need it and you should run the recommened octane in your Owners manual.

Now sometimes its not bad to run an octane booster... some people feel it can clean up injectors and so-called 'carbon' or junk deposits... they simply get their gas down to an 1/8th tank, put in the correct amount of octane booster and run their car real hard. This really isnt a bad thing to do as it can clean up the engine a bit, clear out the build-ups caused from thousands of miles of stop/go traffic, and low RPM shifts. If you get on the gas every-so-often though, normally these deposits wont built up anyways, and most younger people get on the gas fairly often... but it can help slightly.