Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Radar Fanatic

Default High-durability paint

Let's say someone wanted paint a chrome grille black. Let's further say that this someone wanted this paint job to stand up to the elements. What kind of paint would be good to use? Epoxy enamel? And any particular brand? I'd just buy a mesh grille but I don't really like the way they look. Volvo also made a black "egg-crate" grille that I like but I don't think that it would fit my opening.

Advanced Member

No matter what you use it will start "peeling" or "Flaking" very quickly.
    Paint does not adhere to Chrome very well.

Good Citizen

Chrome polish must be removed first with sand scraping and than it can be painted with paint.

Advanced Member

Quote Originally Posted by antilaser
    Chrome polish must be removed first with sand scraping and than it can be painted with any kind of paint.
    I worked in the Collision Repair business for years......painting chrome grilles doesn't work......sorry.
    The "Prep time" alone will cost as much as a new or aftermarket grille.

Radar Fanatic

Clearly, it would have to be extensively prepared. Already know that. All I need is opinions on what kind of paint will hold up to things like sand and other small road debris. Putting in the time to get it ready to be painted is no big deal to me.

Power User

It really isn't a big deal I have access to a media blaster that made very short work of the chrome grill I have in my ford however you probably don't have access to one. Your alternatives are good old elbow grease and some heavy grit sand paper followed by finer grit sand paper or if you live near an auto body shop go and purchase a can of aircraft grade paint stripper the kind you have to mix with water not the one in the spray can I have used it on chrome before and it will take it off just not quite as fast as it does paint.