Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Oil Issues

Radar Fanatic

Default Oil Issues

Scenario:
    1997 3100 using Amsoil/Royal Purle Synthetic 10w30 using K&N filter since 50,000 Miles

Currently: 146,000 miles

Issue:
    The car has been pretty reliable but now it has a minor oil leak(oil seems clean an no signs of coolant mixture)

I want to move backk to regular oil and maybe a thicker grade to compensate for the leak

What brand and oil grade would you recommend?

Also being an old car I dont know if I want to continue on investing in expensive oil

I will still keep using K&N filter no matter what oil I use.

Professional

Going to a thicker oil is not going to solve the leak.
    When I was a mechanic at a Toyota dealership I would have people ask me this all the time.
    The fact is a gasket or seal is leaking somewhere, once they start leaking there is no quick fix other than changing the gasket or seal.
    That little leak is going to become a BIG leak over time.
    Do yourself a favor and get it fixed correctly it will be cheaper in the long run!

Radar Fanatic

What he said /\\. If you like your car and want it to last then you really should fix the problem. Leaking fluids are only a symptom! Unless it's something like the rear main seal it probably won't cost you too much. Just take it in and get an estimate so you can drive without worry.

Power User

Default Re: Oil Issues

Quote Originally Posted by f_399
    Scenario:
    1997 3100 using Amsoil/Royal Purle Synthetic 10w30 using K&N filter since 50,000 Miles

Currently: 146,000 miles

Issue:
    The car has been pretty reliable but now it has a minor oil leak(oil seems clean an no signs of coolant mixture)

I want to move backk to regular oil and maybe a thicker grade to compensate for the leak

What brand and oil grade would you recommend?

Also being an old car I dont know if I want to continue on investing in expensive oil

I will still keep using K&N filter no matter what oil I use.