Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: NC speed laws?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Statesboro, Georgia, United States

    Default NC speed laws?

    ok. I will be keeping my GA DL when i live in NC. I read up on it and im not required to get a NC DL if im attentening a college in NC and planning on comming back to my home state. YAY!

    ALSO, Georgia is NOT part of the "Driver License Compact" so if i do get a ticket, GA will never put it on my record correct???
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ __

    Reading over NC law...I found this. But kinda confusing....

    12 Points:
    Manslaughter or negligent homicide involving a motor vehicle
    Prearranged highway racing or lending a car for such
    Hit-and-Run with bodily injury or death
    Driving Under the Influence
    Driving with a blood alcohol level of .08% or greater
    Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04% or greater
    Driving while impaired
    Transporting illegal intoxicating liquor for sale.

    10 Points:
    Highway racing or lending a car for such (not prearranged)
    Speeding to elude arrest.

    8 Points:
    Driving during revocation or suspension of license or registration.

    4 Points:
    Reckless driving
    Hit-and-Run, with property damage only
    Passing a stopped school bus displaying its stop sign and signals
    Speeding in excess of 75 mph
    Speeding in excess of 80 mph in a 70 mph zone
    Driving after consuming alcohol if the driver is under 21 years of age.

    2 Points:
    Illegal passing
    Speeding in excess of 55 mph but less than 76 mph
    Driving on wrong side of road
    At-Fault accident resulting in property damage in excess of $1,500, but less than $2,500.

    1 Point:
    All other moving violations or at-fault accidents resulting in property damage of $1500 or less and bodily injury of $500 or less.

    EXCEPTIONS: No points will be charged for: Speeding 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit provided that (1) the violation did not occur in a school zone; and (2) there is a clean driving record for the previous three years. [BUT, if a person gets a second moving violation within the three year period, then the points for BOTH tickets are assessed!!]. Additionally, each household can use one prayer for judgment continued (pjc) every three years as long as no one else in the household has used a PJC during that time. If multiple violations occur, only the violation with the higher point value is assessed. Lastly, points exceptions exist for certain at-fault accidents involving contact with animals or fowl, flying gravel or falling objects. -
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____
    So If the PSL is 70mph, I cant be cited for doing 80mph? But then I would get 2 points?

    And what if the PSL is 65 mph, I can do 75mph without being cited?
    Last edited by sx4dude2013; 01-31-2011 at 05:50 PM.



Similar Threads

  1. AAA Wants Speed Laws Enforced
    By StlouisX50 in forum News Stories
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 06:05 PM
  2. Can - Speed laws that will be transparent
    By StlouisX50 in forum News Stories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2006, 10:41 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts