Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default once you POP the fun dont stop......POP in new york

ok so heres the deal, im a college student at suny albany and my car is a ticket magnet, no matter where i go i always end up being the one pulled over. 66 in a 65 with a car passing me at 90 and i would be the one to get a ticket. so i decided i wasnt going to let this happen anymore and figured i would give myself a fighting chance and buy a radar detector, Well i found this site, read practicly every post, watched outruns and jtw's vidoes and now im a radar fanatic. If i had my way i would have every radar detector on the market lined up on my dash, but like i said before im a college student so im not exactly sporting bill gates bankroll, so i have around 200 bucks.

So i was pretty sure i was going to buy a whistler pro 73 and be done with it, but after reading the posts about whistlers and ka, changed my mind, (nys toopers run stalker dual sl ka) so someone suggested buying an older 8500 of ebay, (sorry roy if i had the cash to buy a new x50 it would be from nobody else but you, but between books and tickets, im dumping out the change dish just to pay for gas :roll: ) So i was all set to buy an 8500 when i read some rumors about pop being used in ny :shock: so i did a lil rummaging through some records on the nys trooper budget and sure enough, freshly purschased for 2005 was a bunch of Bee III's, Enforcers, and a few of those lovely Z-35's :x Which considering the size of the state wouldnt be that big of a deal.....except, being at suny albany, my dorm room is about 200 yards from the New York State Troopers main headquaters, offices, and training acedemy, so im thinking theres a good chance i might run into one....