Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can't Wait!

Newcomer

Default Can't Wait!

Tomorrow my 9500ix should be delivered to my house! I am excited to get this. This is my first radar detector. I'm 17 and I live in NJ. I am new to all this and I'm trying to learn everything about radar. My biggest concern (mostly other peoples to) is the cops. I want to mount it low on my windshield. The cops in my town are pretty rough so I was curious as to how good the dashboard mounts are and how the radar detector would act on it.

Experienced

Default Re: Can't Wait!

as you may have read many of us prefer to hard wire it high on the windshield to get a better view and longer range in detecting radar

Yoda of Radar

Quote Originally Posted by Vipers4Life View Post
    Tomorrow my 9500ix should be delivered to my house! I am excited to get this. This is my first radar detector. I'm 17 and I live in NJ. I am new to all this and I'm trying to learn everything about radar. My biggest concern (mostly other peoples to) is the cops. I want to mount it low on my windshield. The cops in my town are pretty rough so I was curious as to how good the dashboard mounts are and how the radar detector would act on it.
    Your 9500ix needs to have a clear look at the road to work properly.

Newcomer

I would do that but 2 reasons.
    1)I have to hide it from my parents because I don't wanna tell them I got it lol
    2)I don't know anything about hardwiring and I don't have the money right now to get it done.

Experienced

its prolly harder to see hardwired...and im sure with a lil help from a few members here we could walk you through it

Newcomer

It is lol. I'm gonna have to use the coiled wire that comes with it.

Experienced

if possible...the direct wire smart cord only runs $30 as is worth every bit as it gives a nice clean install and much easier then having to remove your coiled cord every time you leave your car

Experienced