Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Newcomer

Default Highly technical questions on Laser Guns and Jammers

All,
    I'm an electrical engineer and after my last ticket I decided it's time to design my own laser jammer as a project. I have some techincal questions though that I hope some of the knowledgeble people here can answer. Thanks in advance. Also, I doubt I'm going to try and sell anything I make. I'll make the schematic and parts list public if we get something that works

1) What is this "punchthrough" that everyone talks about. Is this the point at which the laser guns signal is strong enough to get a reading?

2) What is the power rating of the laser diode in the Lidar gun (it would be great if you could also provide the model of the gun).

3) What jammers on the market use a laser diode? What jammers use a IR LED array?

4)Does anyone know the profile or signal that the jammer is trying to replicate? I read you want a a few nano second pulse repeated at 1 kHz. Sound right or way off (I'm going to put adjustments on the prototype for frequency and duration, but I need to be in the ball park to start the design)

That seems like a good starting point.

Thanks again,
    Fedds

Radar Fanatic

1) "Punch Through" is the point at which a jammer ceases to be effective as the vehicle approaches the lidar gun. In general, jammers start working at around 1000ft but can't keep the car cloaked at very short range (~300ft and in.)

2) Don't know...might be able to derive that from the specifications of a LIDAR gun.

3) The Lidatek uses a laser diode and I think that everybody else uses an array over-driven LEDs like you were talking about in the other thread.

4) Not sure. I read somewhere that the pulse rates vary between 100 and 400Hz depending on the gun. Each manufacturer is different and some, like the Laser Atlanta, can even switch between different patterns in an attempt to confuse detectors and jammers. (And it works!)

Experienced