Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Experienced

Default laser in ohio. I see it and 9 times out of 10, slow before I get a laser alert.

I live in ohio, a very heavy laser state (and has been ever since traffic laser came out around 1992).

The biggest user is the ohio highway patrol. Ive dealt with laser for almost 2 decades. 0 tickets by laser (1 ticket via aircraft, another ticket (which I think was meant for a different car) by radar).

OSHP operates white police cruisers, typically parked out in a highway median, as they measure oncoming traffic speeds via laser

And they prefer to measure this way! they would rather get the speeder, not paying attention talking on his/her cellphone.....

I am a very alert driver. 9 out of 10 times I actually see the cruiser, parked in the median with his window down, before I get a laser alert. Id say I have about 2 seconds situational awareness on them before I get an alert. That is enough time to get me slowed down. The only exception to this is when its nighttime, when its more difficult to notice them. However, due to accident-risk, they keep parking lights on.

Sometimes, I can look ahead around a slight curve, and see the edge of their car. Im not yet in position with them, as my direction 'vector' - relative to them, is rapidly changing. However, I did see them and can get slowed down before my direction 'vector' is no longer changing - such that they can get a reading.

This kind of situational awareness, may seem overly simple, but is an effective tool to avoid a laser ticket in ohio.

Radar Fanatic

Default Re: laser in ohio. I see it and 9 times out of 10, slow before I get a laser alert.

Yeah, I've traveled through Ohio quite a bit. Not only laser, but X band is very popular there as well. It's definitely a tricky place to drive at times.

Yoda of Radar

Default Re: laser in ohio. I see it and 9 times out of 10, slow before I get a laser alert.