Newcomer

Default DIY Laser Detector

Hi,

I'm an engineer in the UK seeking methods of detecting so called safety cameras when they are pointed at me. I noticed a few items a while back which discussed the matter, but no conclusions were reached.

My research has found a report from Laser Technology Inc. (LTi), where they have listed the detailed spec of their 20-20 in order to comply with the eye safety requirements of the US authorities. I have a .PDF of the report, but the parameters are:-

Marksman 20/20:-
    Laser diode wavelength 904nm
    PRF 125Hz
    Pulse Duration 12 ns
    Pulse Energy 416nJ
    Peak Pulse Power 34.7W
    Average Power 52mW
    Speed Measurement Distance: 30 ft to 3500 ft
    Acquisition Time: 0.3 seconds

I have similar data for the stalker lidar:-

wavelength 905nm +- 10nm
    Divergence <3 mrad
    PRF 130Hz

I have also found a few PhD theses, and a useful suite of circuits at http://www.imagineeringezine.com/files/air-bk2.html

It would seem viable to construct a receiver capable of detecting 904nm laser radiation. The issue is would such a receiver give enough warning?

If anyone from the previous threads has devised any circuits or has any advice, I would like to share what I have with them.

Simon Bond MEng, BSc(Hons),IEng,MRAeS

Radar Fanatic

Sure, you can construct a circuit to detect the IR radiation if you have the expertise. You would end up with something that does the same job as the laser detection circuits built into modern radar detectors.