Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Professional

Default Radar bands in AZ?

Hey guys, this is my first time posting, so I tried to find an old post about this before asking, but to no avail. I've got myself a Passtport 8500 X50 rev 5, and it does a pretty good job of picking up everything down here. Problem is, it also picks up a lot of X-band hits, and while I know for a fact that the vast majority of these are gas station security systems, I've been X-banded a couple of times with police in the area as well (expert mode only showed one X-band hit each time).

Long story short, does anyone here know what bands police in Arizona (primarily DPS and the departments in the Phoenix metro area) use? I can confirm constant K-band, constant K photo radar, constant Ka-band, instant-on Ka, and lots of pacing by DPS on I-10.

I'll make a point of letting you guys know when I run past speed traps in the Phoenix area--right now, look out in the Ahwatukee Foothills part of town. Police on motorcycles with instant-on Ka are becoming a fixture along Chandler, Ray, and (especially) Pecos.

Default First radar blast

I unwrapped my first radar detector last week, a passport 8500 x50 (red-I like EXP mode). I'm still familiarizing myself with its operation, but I can report my first radar encounter with a Pima County, Arizona sheriff.