Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Experienced

Default Western Washington (state)

Haven't seen an updated list of bands and tactics being used in the Seattle area. I'll add mine, please add yours.

WSP is known to be using PLIII, although I never been hit by one
    WSP is running Ka and K.
    Bothell uses K, instant on.

So far no X-Band sightings in Wa.

Also WSP is running a program with ~45 unmarked cars. These are not steath Crown Vic, they are siezed cars that are completely unmarked. Recently saw 2 with people pulled over.

White Ford Tarus
    Burgandy SUV

Tinted windows, standard plates and tires. No antennas. No visible gear inside. The flashing lights are visible through the tinted windows, but totally invisible when off.

Good Citizen

Default Re: Western Washington (state)

Although I'm a resident of the east side of the state, I spend 2 days a week in Seattle area. On the way to visit some friends in the Lynnwood/Everett area WSP had two laser speed traps on I-5 near Lynnwood.

I used to live in Lynnwood, and I know starting at 148th and going north is notoriously popular for speed traps. This is where the rush hour traffic briefly breaks up, and everyone accelerates vying for position to either get on I405, make the exit to the Alderwood mall, or try to get into a faster lane for the trip through Everett.

The first trap was near the new PnR exit north of 148th. He clocked me going 72 (PSL is 60), and promptly pulled me over [got away with a warning :shock:]. Even at 72MPH, I was still relegated to the right lanes, so I asked the officer how he picked me out of the traffic. He took the meaning of my question as a protest of "you can't pick me out of a crowd with radar," instead of "with scores of other cars going way faster than me, why'd you point your laser at my car?" (given the density of the traffic, I deduced he was using laser even though my RD was dead silent).