Speed trap?

Diane Peters, Oro Valley

I am in complete agreement with Nancy Hicks, ("Tickets Cause Concern," Letters to the Editor, June 21) who believes that the Oro Valley police are harassing drivers. I would like to share my story.

Shortly after moving here, I was informed by my neighbors to "watch out for Oro Valley cops!" They informed me about the excessive amount of speeding tickets that are issued in this town. This is the reputation of the Oro Valley police and it's hardly the atmosphere for fostering good will between the police department and the citizens. I had been driving for 30 years without incident. Not one accident, not even a fender bender. I had never even hit an animal in the road. But less than one year after moving here, I was given a $135 speeding ticket for traveling 25 mph!

It turned out that there was a small portable 15 mph school zone sign on the side of the road (La Cholla) that I did not see because the sign was placed in a dip in the road and was therefore not visible as I approached it.

I took pictures of the "invisible sign" and presented it to the judge who heard my case and although he agreed that the sign was not visible, he allowed the citation to stand because I "live in the area" and I "should have known" that this was a school zone.

The town of Oro Valley was negligent for not ensuring that the 15 mph school zone signs were clearly visible to passing motorists, but rather than accepting responsibility for their error, they twisted the evidence and blamed the law-abiding citizen instead.