New law hasn't slowed some Oregon drivers
Two people were cited Monday for excessive speeding
BY TIMOTHY ALEX AKIMOFF
September 27, 2006
High-speed driving still is a hot issue for Oregon's police agencies despite a law that went into effect in January.
That law increased penalties for drivers clocked at speeds of 100 mph or faster.
Two arrests Monday highlighted the issue.
David A. Paz, 28, was arrested after an Oregon State trooper clocked his 1998 Honda Civic at speeds of as much as 105 mph on Highway 221. Paz also was charged with with driving under the influence of intoxicants, reckless driving and recklessly endangering another person.
Paz's arrest was the second of the day in the same area.
Jose Avila Del Rayo, 30, of McMinnville was arrested early Monday after a Yamhill County Sheriff's deputy clocked his 1998 Volkswagen Passat at speeds of as much as 110 mph on Highway 18.
Del Rayo was arrested and charged with DUI as well as attempting to elude an officer.
High-speed drivers face an initial fine of $1,103 and a 30- to 90-day suspension of their license, the OSP said.
In 2005, the Oregon State Police cited 464 drivers for speeds of more than 100 mph.
OSP troopers cited 65 drivers for speeds of more than 100 mph in the first three months of 2006, which is lower than the 97 mph cited during the same period in 2005.
Some police agencies are taking actions to thwart aggressive driving in their jurisdictions rather than waiting to see whether the law has an effect.
The Marion County Sheriff's Office has an aggressive-driver-enforcement car that is unmarked and used to combat high-speed as well as out-of-control drivers, many of whom are found on Highway 22.
"We've had several since the law took effect," Marion County Sheriff's Deputy Kevin Rau said. "Everybody is taking these folks to jail. It's not a person crime, but they are booked and their mug shots are taken."
Some drivers complain of entrapment, but Rau said sheriff's deputies are not causing anybody to speed.
"If you go out in a patrol car (instead of the unmarked car), people aren't likely to drive 100 mph past you," Rau said.
takimoff@StatesmanJournal.com or (503) 399-6750
A new law in Oregon fines high-speed drivers $1,103 and can result in them losing their license for 30 to 90 days