Newport Township will target speeders; fire department to receive grants
email this storyEmail to a friendprinter friendlyPrinter-friendly
NEWPORT TWP. - Township fire Chief Dan Kowalski told the supervisors Wednesday night the fire department is on the verge of receiving an Assistance to Firefighters Grant for $262,250, which will be used to purchase a new pumper truck.

This is the third year the department has applied for the grant.

"The fact that they've assigned us a number is usually an indicator that we're going to get some money," he said.

The department has applied for another grant for $160,000 through the AFG program for new equipment, the fire chief said.

"I think we're certainly deserving of the grant, considering the prison, the power plants, the river, the high-speed freight line, which we don't see normally, but that is still our coverage area. We have to deal with it no matter what," Kowalski said.

The fire chief presented a special award to Tony Ruchinski, owner and operator of Weldrite Welding, Wanamie. The award recognizes Ruchinski's continued cooperation and assistance to the department.

"Without people like Tony, I don't think that our department would be able to continue," said Kowalski.

In other business, Police Commissioner John Zyla said in response to growing concern over the increase in the number of people speeding, police Chief Robert Impaglia has taken aggressive action and set up six new speed traps throughout the township.

The commissioners passed two ordinances regarding the collection of the township's per capita taxes. The first ordinance gives official authority to Berkheimer Tax Administrators to collect Newport Township's per capita taxes. The second ordinance authorizes Berkheimer to impose and retain costs incurred in the collection of delinquent per capita taxes. Both ordinances go into effect immediately.

Brian Pauska was hired as a full-time laborer for the department of public works at an hourly rate of $9.75 plus hospitalization, vision and dental care, said Chairman Paul Czapracki.