Tallahassee, Florida On October 1, 2008, new traffic laws enacted by the Florida Legislature will take effect that hopefully will dissuade motorists from driving erratically or recklessly. CS/HB 137 was passed increasing fines and allowing for license suspensions for drivers who operate vehicles in excess of the speed limit of 50 miles per hour or more.
For persons operating motorcycles, a rider must keep both wheels on the road at all times and permanently affix their license plate horizontally to the ground. The license plate cannot have the ability to be flipped up so as to be obscured from view.
For a first offense, a driver will be fined $1000. For a second offense, a driver will be fined $2500 and their license revoked for a period of one year. For a third offense, a driver will face a felony charge, be fined $5000 and have their license revoked for a period of 10 years.
For a complete listing of motor vehicle laws, check out www.flhsmv.gov or www.flsenate.gov