Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default Interesting Discovery

Well, I was working on my car in the garage with the TV on today and I decided to change the channel. Pointed the remote at the TV hit the button and I hear thing clang clang beep beep sound. I was like WTF? Anyway I do it again and realize it's my V1 (which I forgot to turn off) alerting to laser. Once I realized this I was like COOL! So I started shooting the car with the TV remote and testing what the V1's field of view is. It pretty much picked up everything with 10 feet. Anything longer I assume would've been not powerful enough. After this I decided to try this on my dad's Bel980 and to my surprise nothing happened. Not a thing, even at point blank range. So V1 is definitly a kick ass dector and I am really confident about its laser performance.

But why did the 980 not go off at all? Is it because it is not sensitive enough to low power infrared? Or is it broken?

Also, how much more power does a police laser gun have compared to a TV remote?

Old Timer

a LOT more. If a cop is shooting you with a laser, the v1 will alert you.

Good Citizen

I'm a big fan of the V-1, but its superior ability to pick up tv remotes might not be it's best selling point.

It's cool to know though.

Speed Demon

The V1 is the undisputed winner when it comes to laser detection as everyone knows.

Quote Originally Posted by BiGeAsYgUy
    The V1 is the undisputed winner when it comes to laser detection as everyone knows.

and picking up tv remotes also..... :wink:

Default Re: Interesting Discovery

Quote Originally Posted by Tromping_Maniac