Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The truth about laser and placement

Hey all,

Im new to this whole Radar detectors and I have been trying to read around. From what I have read it is best to place the radar detector in the middle of the windshield not too low, not too high, to get the best of both Radar detector as well as Laser detector..

Also, after reading about many cases of people getting pulled over with Laser as they are shot with the laser and either the RD went off too late or it didnt go off at all.. So this gets me thinking, what does the Laser detector really do? Alert you that you just got made by the LEO with his laser already and really no chance of getting away? The only luck with laser is if the LEO was gunning people down and RD picked up some reflections that can alert you in time to be able to slow down.. Am I right with this? (this probably could be the same with Pop and instant on? right?)

Next, after thinking about the above scenario, I somewhat concluded that maybe placing the RD higher will be the best way since this will increase the chance of detecting the radars x, k, ka, etc bands.. Those that actually can be detected far away that gives enough time to slow down..

Also another question would be, Other than V1, no other detectors are actually front AND rear D.. So why need to make sure that the detector have clear view of the Rear View? Wouldnt placing the detector high up the windshield to produce a stealth mode look, so that the LEO wont see it and increase your chances of getting away with a warning? God knows that if a LEO finds you with a RD and you got pulled over, its a guarantee ticket!!..

Discuss..

Power User

Default Re: The truth about laser and placement

Quote Originally Posted by eminent