Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default Is this legal in Maryland?

    I just got the license plate cover that hides the tag number from being photographed at an angle; got cited twice in a year for running a RL.

    I was just told by an acquaintance, that's sort of a LEO, that this is illegal in Maryland. Now, this acquaintance actually lives and works in DC. He told me that if I got caught with this tag cover that I would be fined $500.

    Is there any truth to this?

    snaps

  2. #2
    Scratonicity Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7,614

    Default

    Yeah they are illegal but there is a loophole that doesnt make it effective till 1-OCT-05. I got a ticket for having one and was fined $40 dollars. But I got out of it eventually because of the loophole.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks thestaton! Could you tell me where can I find that law?

    Thanks!
    snaps

  4. #4
    Scratonicity Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7,614

    Default

    yeah, i'll have to do some digging but I ended up finding it online.

    when I get some spare time tommorow I'll try finding it. I know I used google.com to find it...

    staton

  5. #5

    Default

    I tried to search for it last nite on my own; no dice.

    What search words did you use?

    snaps

  6. #6
    Speed Demon
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    771

    Default

    I know DC just passed a law that makes it a $500 fine. Not sure about MD though (and that's where I live :roll: but then again I don't have the plate cover) DC also passed a law that if you don't have your license and proof of insurance. GEICO sent me this yesterday:

    Quote Originally Posted by GEICO
    Effective July 16, 2005, District of Columbia police officers will begin issuing $300.00 fines for drivers who cannot provide proof of insurance when stopped. An individual pulled over by District police officers must be able to provide license, registration and a current insurance card or a citation will be issued.

  7. #7
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Oakland, New Jersey
    Posts
    51

    Default

    NJ's fine for no license is something like $250 or so. It used to be about $40.... heh.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 09:50 AM
  2. Maryland Speed Camera Program Faces New Legal Challenge
    By StlouisX50 in forum News Stories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 10:56 AM
  3. Are RDs legal in FL now or not?
    By M_Six in forum Local & Regional Info
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-18-2007, 06:42 AM
  4. Legal or not?
    By M_Six in forum Radar Detectors - General
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 08:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •