Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Bel 955 or Whistler Pro 78

I am a college student and I make trips back and forth from Nacogdoches to Houston, Dallas, Austin, and San Antonio. I currently have a Whistler RD that I have had for about 4 years now and the speaker is starting to go out, other than that it has saved me a many of times. I have been reading on here for the last couple of days about the Pro 78 and Bel 955. Both are in my price range (under $200) and can pick either up for less than $160 shipped. I do not usually go more than about 5-8 mph over the posted speed limit.

My question is which of the 2 detectors mentioned above would be a better detector for the money and my situation. I need as much detection as possible for the price.

Power User

ha, this question gets asked like every other day

If you search on the forums, you can find some excellent long, drawn-out debates about both detectors. In the end it depends on what bands are in-use in your area, and whether or not you have good Bel-luck...

IMO both are excellent detectors in performance, but the Whistler lands you undeniably better customer service and technical support.

Radar Fanatic

955. It's the same platform as the RX65, the 995 and 965, just with fewer features. And, it outperforms the Pro78.

J/

Speed Demon

X2

Speed Demon

As of right now, according to the GOL tests, I'd go with the 955. But supposedly the updated Pro78/XTR-690 is a Ka monster....so????

I can testify so far I'm pretty happy with my 955....but if it were to go on the fritz, I'd be screaming for Whistler.

Newcomer

Quote Originally Posted by jerry540i
    955. It's the same platform as the RX65, the 995 and 965, just with fewer features. And, it outperforms the Pro78.

J/
    Yea, when Bel detectors are working maybe. :x

swayoveride,