Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Should I buy a used BEL V985? How old is this detector?

Hello I am from Ontario Canada. I am completely new to radar detectors and am not really certain how badly I will be penalized if I get caught with a detector. Will I just get a minor fine and the detector taken away, or will it be a major criminal offense in Canada for using a detector illegally?

I am also curious what is the difference between the various models around the BEL V985? Are they mostly the same or is Vector worst than the other ones in the series? What year was the V985 released?

I just want a gizmo to know if there are cops around, I don't really care to speed too excessively. I'm wondering how high are the odds I will get caught through an RDD with this BEL unit?

Much thanks, Regards.

Advanced Member

Well the Their is the BEL Vector 995 which is the newer verion of the BEL 985.

Personally if you plan o use this detector in canada buy something cheap and you won't mind losing to the cops and if you are going to buy a detector for the States go with the Vector 995

Spoiler: show

Radar Detectors-V1 & BEL v995
    Laser Jammer-Laser Interceptor Quad
    GPS Camera Locator-Cheetah C100
    GPS Nav-Garmin nuvi w/Trapster
    CB Radio-Galaxy DX-949 w/Wilson 500
    Scanner-RS Pro-96

Power User

I had a vector 985 and loved it. I am not sure how the laser sensitivity is on it but it has gone off when I was hit with laser. It is just as powerfull as my x-50 in my opinion however I can't prove that just my 02. I came up with that buy doing some long range test on it before I found this forum. I sold the detector to my father because he was going to buy a cheap one from radio shack.

OUTRUN

Professional

The Bel 985 is at least 3 years old. For the most part it is still a good unit.
    The one thing you will have to be aware of is the heat issue.