Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Speed Demon

Default radar detector 'myths'

Some LEO wrote this..

Radar Detector and Laser Detector Facts
    There are many, many myths and misconceptions floating around out there about RADAR (Radio Detection And Ranging) and LASER (LIDAR or LIght Detection And Ranging) units and how they operate to determine who gets a speeding ticket. As a certified RADAR/LIDAR instructor, I can tell you that your best bet, regardless of what you choose to believe, is to just drive the speed limit. No matter who believes what about the reliability of the equipment and/or the competence of the officer using it, the only way to eliminate all doubt is to obey the law. These are the most common comments I have heard over the years concerning this topic. I do not consider myself to be an "expert" in the workings of all RADAR/LIDAR equipment on the market. I simply want to provide you with the best information I can to allow you to make an educated decision on what you do out on the road.

"RADAR won't work in bad weather". False. RADAR "accuracy" is generally not affected by inclement weather, however the sensitivity may be diminished somewhat. The main reason that you do not see many tickets being written in bad weather? Cops do not like to be out in the elements any more than anyone else.