Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default How does a RD detect laser though glass?

I keep reading that in order to use a laser speed gun can't be used thought glass. If laser can't go though glass, how does a RD detect it?

Radar Fanatic

Default Re: How does a RD detect laser though glass?

I am not a scientist, but how do you see through glass?

Just think about light, you can see the stuff outside of your car when the light is shinning in, just like your RD can see the laser. If you try to shine a flashlight through your windshield at night, you cannot see much better because the reflected light is blinding you from what is now lit up outside the car.

Do we have a scientist that can confirm this?

Radar Fanatic

i have had no problems clocking cars with my marksman through the windshield. if i remember correctly i was able to get a rear hit on a car that had passed by at over 850 feet.

it does reduce the range severely though but it doesnt stop it from working altogether.

the only thing i have seen that completely blinds a LIDAR gun (other than a jammer) is fog. no readings whatsoever even up close but then again you cant speed in fog either

Radar Fanatic

I was thinking it makes it more unreliable in court, rather than impossible. Who's to say the cop wont lie though. Maybe when you went flying past him he didn't have time to get the window down, but he knows you were speeding...

Advanced Member

Laser can be used through glass, in fact it is mentioned in some of the operators manuals. For example, Kustom recommends that if you must use the Prolaser III through glass, to target through a side window instead of the windshield, because the oblique angle of the windshield will cause the greatest performance reduction, and some windshields have coatings that block a lot of the infrared. LTI recommends using the weather filter when shooting through the windshield, and shooting through the center if the windshield is "bubble-shaped".

Jim

Radar Fanatic