Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Just got my 690SE - help

I just got my 690SE and had a couple of questions...first of all i have a chevy tahoe so would mounting it in the middle of the windshield be the best idea? also i do mostly highway driving when I go to work so I drive 65 miles back and forth..I do a little bit of driving in the town I live in...what would be the best settings for me because I drove by a place and kept getting a false ka band alert and I believe one false laser alert..any help on which options I should choose would be greatly appreciated..I'm new to having this type of radar detector

Power User

Default Re: Just got my 690SE - help

Mount it high for best radar detection. Forget about laser detection.

Quote Originally Posted by v1user View Post
    Mount it high for best radar detection. Forget about laser detection.
    ok because i've heard mounting it in the middle is best, and i heard as high as i can put it is best..also if anyone can answer my question on what settings i should have from the way I drive as i stated above

Power User

Start with these settings. kamax id, filter, highway mode, pop off.If x band is not used in your area you can turn it off also. If you get ka falses from other detectors go to filter 1 mode, try it for a week and if needed go to filter 2 mode. As you go up in filter settings you make the RD ignore a ka signal before it reports it. The more filter you add the more delay you add, so dont use more filter than you need.

If it is hilly in your area mounting high will help it see over the hill better than low mounting. I like mine mid windshield.

Quote Originally Posted by Freebird View Post