Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default What does a radar detector detect? ;)

Ok, I know this has the possibility to devolve into "Who's burried in Grant's tomb?", but it is a serious question.

First, let me say that I am an electrical engineer, and I am into ham radio and scanning. So my question isn't as silly as it sounds.

I know that speed measurement radar measures pulses of radio waves at various frequencies.

Do radar detectors simply detect a signal/energy at a specific frequency band? Or do they look for specific patterns within a signal (e.g. pulse rates, etc)?

Would a simple signal at 34.7GHz trigger a radar detector? Or would the signal need to be 'pulsed' as it is in a radar device?

Thanks!

Professional
    west coast of the ___American Corporatocracy___ X-band is alive-deadly-expensive

Default Re: What does a radar detector detect? ;)

Experienced

Lightbulb Re: What does a radar detector detect? ;)

Quote Originally Posted by b52hbuff View Post
    Ok, I know this has the possibility to devolve into "Who's burried in Grant's tomb?", but it is a serious question.

First, let me say that I am an electrical engineer, and I am into ham radio and scanning. So my question isn't as silly as it sounds.

I know that speed measurement radar measures pulses of radio waves at various frequencies.

Do radar detectors simply detect a signal/energy at a specific frequency band? Or do they look for specific patterns within a signal (e.g. pulse rates, etc)?

Would a simple signal at 34.7GHz trigger a radar detector? Or would the signal need to be 'pulsed' as it is in a radar device?

Thanks!
    Im not 100% Sure if i understand your Question here but i believe a Radar detector would sound and alert if it detects a radar beam on a certain ban like Ka ban and if it was transmitting on the ban or Frequently range.

Does this Answer your question

snoopyc4