Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default Scanners illegal in CA?

i'm new to the whole scanner cb radio scene, and i know that cb radios are legal in california, but is it legal to have a scanner in your car in california, any info is appreciated....

Newcomer

Default Illegal in Cali

Well it says that scanners are illegal in the comission of a crime, so are they legal if you just have them in your car and listening?

Radar Fanatic

Default Re: Illegal in Cali

Quote Originally Posted by Bm1987
    Well it says that scanners are illegal in the comission of a crime, so are they legal if you just have them in your car and listening?
    On that note, I'm in michigan and it says

Michigan - (2006 law) - LAW REVISED 2006! AT THIS TIME, it is STILL illegal to use a scanner in Michigan. However, in about 90 days: Use in furtherance of a crime will be illegal. (posted 3/4/06)
    I have a scanner I listen to ALL the time. . . well whenever I'm at home anyway. I have been contemplating putting one in my car - even though it'd be illegal. Now I'm happy to hear that it will be legal, so long as I'm not doing anything illegal w/ it. So umm how will I know when it is truely safe to put it in my car??

Newcomer

Now one must ask themself if using a scanner to try and find out where LEO's are at while speeding would be concidered a comission of a crime?
    After all speeding is against the law.
    This might be reaching a bit but you never know how a LEO will act.

Speed Demon

Yeah if you get pulled over for speeding and you are using a scanner, I'm pretty sure you will get in trouble because you are using it for a crime. Depending on how big of an asshole the cop is, they might not mention it in the ticket.