Default Looking for analog, trunking scanner...new to scanners

Hey guys, I'm new to this whole scene and am interested in purchasing a handheld analog and trunking scanner. I'm not really sure what good models are or where would be a good, reliable place to buy from. Ease of use is a significant factor in my purchase since I'm new.

Speed Demon

If you are from USA than UnidenBR330T is GREAT choice!Do some research about BR330T and you'll see that this is the best choice....price/performance ratio is great..they go from 240$ up....I have European "brother" of BR330T,it's called UBC3500XLT....I think it is the best handheld ANALOG scanner.Has the same features as 396T,same hardware..difference betwen 396T and 330T is:330T is analog not digital like396T,330T has yellow display,396T has blue display,330T has"do not disturb"close call,396T doesn't.....and 330T has more sensitive reception.
    Belive me,you can't go wrong with BR330T!

Professional

I'd suggest surfing over to http://www.radioreference.com/index.php and read both the forums and also the Wiki.

Many folks find understanding trunked radios systems, and/or the newer dynamic memory model scanners from Uniden something that takes a bit of learning. If you don't understand these concepts, and want to monitor a trunked system, or buy a scanner that uses DMM, it won't be easy to use.

Vendors I would recommend include ScannerMaster, Grove Enterprises, and Scanners Unlimited(in the SF Bay area). Radio Shack sells scanners but *I* would not depend on the local store workers to advise you on which scanner to buy.

You might find someone there that knows their stuff, but given the emphasis on cell phone sales at the Shack these days, I wouldn't count on it.