Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Experienced

Default why do so many ppl suggest the pro 97...

when there seems to be a lot of other scanners that radioshack carries for cheaper. I'm new at this so if that was a stupid question i'm sorry lol...just a quick lesson is all i need thanks guys

Experienced

Default Re: why do so many ppl suggest the pro 97...

Quote Originally Posted by bigmack View Post
    when there seems to be a lot of other scanners that radioshack carries for cheaper. I'm new at this so if that was a stupid question i'm sorry lol...just a quick lesson is all i need thanks guys
    Check out the Uniden line of scanners, lots more to chose from. Depends on what is in your area, and the type of agencies you want to listen in on as to what scanner you want. One word of advice is to keep the scanner you chose as simple as possible at first. Most will come with a lot more features than you will use, so “the top of the line” is not necessarily needed to enjoy the scanner hobby as an amateur.

Experienced

k i guess i should ask it like this.... if i live in Bellingham, Wa and want to monitor police frequency's, then what kind of scanner should i look at for channel and MHz coverage wise. some scanners say 200 channel 800 MHz, but i have no clue what i would be looking for. just a general idea before i go to the store tomorrow

Street Lawyer

Pro-97 is the CHEAPEST triple analog trunking scanner, which is what most of the US is on. The digital scanners cost even more, and eventually most of the US will be on digital, but the Pro-97 is the cheapest scanner that work's in today's world.

Experienced

Look up your area on this site.
    RadioReference.com - Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference