Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RD + CB ?

Newcomer

Default RD + CB ?

I've been running a good RD for many years, my car also has a CB because our car club uses them to talk back and forth on road trips.
    On a few solo trips I've tried listening to ch 19 while on the Interstates, hoping to get warnings about speed traps ahead. Instead, all I hear is garbage from truckers with very large mouths, very small brains, and waaay too much time on their hands. Has the Smokie information gone over to a different channel? Is there any way to get good info on CB?
    BTW, I don't have sideband on my radio.
    Thanks.

Speed Demon

Default Re: RD + CB ?

I hear all my reports on 19. When I've got the CB on, I have no need for the RD. It's better than arrows when someone shouts out "Got a bear off the shoulder eastbound at the 33!" But yes, you have to suffer through all the other trucker talk.

Newcomer

My gripe is that even after listening to all the trucker talk, I still don't get any information. Last time I tried it about a year ago, in a couple of hours I ran past 3 patrol cars (2 stationary, 1 moving) and nobody said a word.

Newcomer

Quote Originally Posted by Gearhead Jim View Post
    My gripe is that even after listening to all the trucker talk, I still don't get any information. Last time I tried it about a year ago, in a couple of hours I ran past 3 patrol cars (2 stationary, 1 moving) and nobody said a word.
    It's because you're in illinois. The traffic is too bad or truckers are too afraid to speed. In Illinois I've never heard a bear report. Cross over to IN and MI where the truckers are reckless and go 75+ and they call out every smokie.

Radar Fanatic

You don't hear much around the Chicago suburbs but pass joliet on a weekday and it's a whole different story.

There is no guarantee, every day is a different mix of people in different moods with different priorities.