Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: best Scanner?

Good Citizen

Default best Scanner?

Hello,

I am new to the whole scanner thing, but it seems interesting to be able to listen in on the chatter of police/ems/fire. What's the best scanner that doesn't require any vehicular installation, but with great clarity and reception.

Thanks!

Founder of Stealthvation

Default Re: best Scanner?

Radio Shack Pro 106

Radar Fanatic

Depends where you are, what systems are used in your area how involved with programming you're willing to get.

It's sounds like you're looking for a handheld but the Mobile radios are also incredibly easy to setup as desktop scanners, just put the pads on the metal, hook up the wall adapter instead of the 12v hook up the antenna and program it...no screws required. Is that what you'd like or do you want a handheld?

The handhelds tend to have smaller memory banks, which may present an issue should you live in an area where everything is on a digitally trunked system.

Which is best, is a pretty open ended question around here...
    Last edited by Motor On; 06-17-2009 at 11:29 AM.

Yoda of Radar

Quote Originally Posted by Motor On View Post
    Depends where you are, what systems are used in your area how involved with programming you're willing to get.
    Yep. We need to know a whole lot more information before we can even begin to address that question. Read the Scanner FAQ at the top of this section, then get back to us.

"Buy the BEST and screw the rest." - fire65

"im intrested to see how well you do.i never seen a car JTG before would be a first for me.." - radarrob

Good Citizen