Thread: CB Antenna Idea

Newcomer

Default CB Antenna Idea

I'm very new to CB radios, and I'm interested in setting one up in my car. I like stealthy installs for the aesthetics and the challenge of finding the most inconspicuous setup. Since I do not use the radio in my car as I prefer to listen to my iPod, I was wondering if it is possible to install a CB whip in place of the factory radio antenna.

I realize in order to get the best performance, I'd be better off going to the tried and tested route, but I was hoping this way may also work. Thanks!

Radar Fanatic

Default Re: CB Antenna Idea

Quote Originally Posted by GearedUp View Post
    I'm very new to CB radios, and I'm interested in setting one up in my car. I like stealthy installs for the aesthetics and the challenge of finding the most inconspicuous setup. Since I do not use the radio in my car as I prefer to listen to my iPod, I was wondering if it is possible to install a CB whip in place of the factory radio antenna.

I realize in order to get the best performance, I'd be better off going to the tried and tested route, but I was hoping this way may also work. Thanks!
    You can certainly put a CB antenna where your Factory antenna is in most cars. I put an NMO mount where my factory AM antenna was. Instead of the CB I put my HAM radio there, but there's certainly CB band antennas you can put on the mount in that place.

Newcomer

So I would place the NMO mount on the outside mount for the AM/FM antenna, mount a CB whip to the NMO, and run the attached coax into the car to the actual CB?

Sorry if that sounds confusing, as I said, I'm new to this...and possibly confusing myself in the process. Thank you for the help, it's very much appreciated!

Radar Fanatic

Almost, I actually disconnected the AM antenna removed it, then put the NMO in the hole that was left, and ran the wire to the CB.

Then you can screw on a CB whip that has an NMO base and you'll be all set to go.

Newcomer