Professional

Default uniden B-PRO510XL. good idea or not?

i've been inspired by crazyvolvorob and i'm interested in getting a new uniden PRO510XL CB. its quite inexpensive and would be good for me since i'm only starting out with CB's. anyway, i've got a few questions about it:
    1) would it be best to get it right off of uniden's website?
    2) i'd assume that it comes with all the required stuff like an antenna (i know the one that comes with it isnt the greatest) and microphone/speaker, correct?
    3) how do you power the unit? does it use a cigarette lighter adapter or does it require hardwiring?
    4) what would be a good smaller antenna that i could get? i dont want my parents to be suspicious of a huge honkin whip antenna on my trunk, plus they'd probably think it would scratch the hell out of my car, eventhough i know it wouldnt
    5) what is the "mounting bracket" thats on their website under accessories? would this be something that i could use or would be good to use?
    6) anything else you'd reccomend that i do or get with this?

thanks a ton!
    Ted

Advanced Member

1) Buying from the uniden the radio won't come tuned and peaked...I was going to buy my from cbcity.com before i found a radio i wanted on ebay

2) Antenna's are sold separately

3) You can hardwire it in or get a ciggarette lighter adapter which i use

4) A good small antenna with decent range is Wilson Lil Wil(36")....of you could get a slightly bigger Hustler (44")

5) mounting hardware and brackets come with it

6) I got an echo mic for chritmas, it is sort of fun to play with but not necessary

If your parents question you about the CB tell them it's to help you aviod traffic jams and it's great to use for calling for help when cell phone doesn't work

Spoiler: show

Radar Detectors-V1 & BEL v995
    Laser Jammer-Laser Interceptor Quad
    GPS Camera Locator-Cheetah C100
    GPS Nav-Garmin nuvi w/Trapster
    CB Radio-Galaxy DX-949 w/Wilson 500
    Scanner-RS Pro-96