Here's my review on Magellans top end GPS system.

In a quickee sumary, this thing isn't worth full retail price by any means. If your looking to pay full "MSRP" for one of these pass on the deal, if you can find a deal on one for half or less the actual MSRP then grab it.

I've used now all of the top GPS systems as of 2007. I've been using the Magellan 4250 for about the past 7 months and at first loved it when compaired to what was out there, hated it for MSRP price though, bought one anyhow, got a smoking deal I couldn't pass up... $250 new in the box on Amazon. Had I paid full price for this thing it would have been sent back the first week I owned it.

Any questions by anyone buying one of these and hopefully I'll cover them in this post, or feel free to ask.

Do I love mine, yes, could it be better, yes, very much so yes.

The wide screen is great, probably a waste of money though if you're looking to upgrade from a standard screen to a wide screen. Here's why... The screens are wide in the wrong direction, if you could turn it so the things were taller instead of wider you'd have a benefit. This would allow you to see further up the road instead of the areas you'll find you could care less about off to the sides. It would look funny having a wide screen display standing on end, but it would serve a better purpose.

Of all the GPS units I've used when it comes to routing and expected arrival time this Magellan rules hands down. It has a knack for picking the absolute best routes. It has pin point accuracy for giving me an exact arrival time. These two things are its huge pluses.

The wide screen isn't as much of a plus as I'd wanted it to be when I made this transition. The info to the sides you'll find to be irrelevant to you. It's info up the road you want to see. Wide screen is good, they just need to make these things so you can turn them 90 degrees and get more up front info out of it.