Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default Best Supplement to V1

So I've been searching around for like half an hour now, but found nothing on this topic. What is the best supplementary radar detector to work in conjunction with a V1? I'm a tech savvy person and personally just want more gadgets in the cockpit. I was looking at the CB/Scanner subforum, but I don't like the idea of a huge antenna on my car.

Power User

erickonphoenix supplements his V1 with a SR7 to display frequency while the V1 provides directional intelligence.

The Veil Guy pairs his V1 with an STi.

Personally if you just want more gadgets I'd recommend getting one that's more immediately useful like a jammer or other laser defenses.

Lead Foot

Default Re: Best Supplement to V1

Quote Originally Posted by kevblah
    So I've been searching around for like half an hour now, but found nothing on this topic. What is the best supplementary radar detector to work in conjunction with a V1? I'm a tech savvy person and personally just want more gadgets in the cockpit. I was looking at the CB/Scanner subforum, but I don't like the idea of a huge antenna on my car.
    Your money, and your time, would be better spent with another gadget. Detector interference coupled with the fact that there is next to no benefit running two simultaneously makes this a fairly pointless idea, imo.

If you absolutely insisted on it, an 8500 or something facing rearward as part of a really slick installation is a thought, but with a V1, it's not one on which I'd bother spending a few hundred bucks.

1. There may be ways to get a CB or scanner mounted in your car without having a huge-ass antenna; others here would know more about that than I do. Check on your state/local laws regarding mobile, non-professional scanner usage.

2. Lidar jammer, replete with F/R transceivers and all that cool stuff.

3. Non traffic-related gadgets, like A/V, nav, etc.

Newcomer

Default Re: Best Supplement to V1