Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: bay area users

Newcomer

Default bay area users

i've been using the v1 for a couple of months already and I've noticed that radars from the X band haven't been the police. Is this true for everyone else in the bay area? do you guys have X band disabled? Also, when the radar detects POP, what band does it show it on? And how many radar strength dots untill it means that it can be a threat? is l mode a good mode to use on the highway, or stick with A?

I don't believe X band is used in CA. (don't quote me on this) Everytime my v1 detects a LEO it's always triggered by Ka. I did encounter a speed sign which shot off k but never x.

As someone once posted, many cops in the bay don't drive with radar on. They seem to 'sneak' up behind you as you're driving. So keep scanning the rear as you're driving.

I always leave my v1 on the L setting unless I'm driving down to southern california then I change it to A.

Newcomer

I always leave my v1 on the L setting unless I'm driving down to southern california then I change it to A.
    Any reason why you choose A in So. Cal? I live in Riverside county and was also wondering which bands are used around here. I think CHP uses Ka since I've detected one while driving and saw him behind me. He wasn't targeting me though.

Newcomer

I can't speak for anyone else, but if i am driving a long way through the middle of nowhere (like from the bay area to so cal) I will put it on A because I am paranoid about getting the alert ASAP and there aren't enough falses to do anything more than wake me up and help me pay attention.

Once I hit the city though it is back to L.

Good Citizen

So far I have only encountered Ka used by the CHP and local cops. They do have K band speed signs as well as K band "traffic flow monitor radars" on hwy 280, and probably others as well. Laser is also used, but not quite as much as Ka.