Experienced

Default V1 Hardwire Dilemma

I got my V1 just last week and I've been thinking about hardwiring it. The few reasons I really really want to do this are that I'm getting sick of the power cable hanging down for everyone to see; and the other reason is that I can see people eyeing my RD in traffic and at stop lights and everyone seems to make a bubble or many times a "U" around me and mimic my speed. I don't know if this is happening to other windshield mounters but it gets really ANNOYING...

I have a few issues about hardwiring the unit. First off, I have no clue what I'm doing. I've never done any interior work in a car before. Next, I don't want to pay a pro to install it for me. Lastly, I know a friend who CAN do it but I know in a week his friends will bust out my window and steal it.

Basically, what I was thinking was just a basic hardwire - Power goes from the V1 into the ceiling, down the A-column, into the fuse box. Then the concealed display would be mounted by my tachometer. I have bubbles under the RVM and about a 4" tint strip at the top of the windshield.

I was planning on having the suction cups attach on the tint strip leaving the horn and laser lens just below the tint strip with an unobstructed view. The rear facing horn would have an unobstructed view too.

I have a 2004 toyota corolla 4-door. I've looked all over the internet and found DIY for BMWs and some trucks, but nothing for a sedan like mine.

If anyone can give me some advice, links, ANYTHING, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks,
    Steve
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.jpg (62.4 KB, 32 views)
    • File Type: jpg 2.jpg (71.3 KB, 33 views)
    • File Type: jpg 3.jpg (125.2 KB, 32 views)

Professional

Default Re: V1 Hardwire Dilemma

if you dont want to hardwire, buy a 10 feet extension cord from walmart plug it in your cig lighter outlet and on the other end plugin you v1 adapter and hide the wire by the side wall till the mirror side.