Speed Demon

Default V1 Hardwiring Video

I'm going to be hardwiring the V1 possibly this weekend. I was going to make a video of it for the newbies with step by step. This is my first time hard wiring so hopefully I don't run in to any issues. From the videos I saw on youtube its really easy.

Hopefully the step by step video help other members who are thinking about hardwiring

Experienced

Default Re: V1 Hardwiring Video

Sounds Great!

Only thing you might want to touch on is what to do in general for different vehicles.

Since we all don't have the same vehicle.

Speed Demon

Any other factors I should consider... because want to make easy step by step video.

Good Citizen

I just finished hardwiring my V1 in my S2000 yesterday. Worked out very well and pretty easy too. I used instructions I found on a S2000 forum. Now I don't have to worry about the coily cord hanging from my detector to the 12 volt plug in between the seats.

Lead Foot

You really have to hardwire in the S. The factory power point is in a terrible place for a windshield mount RD.

Professional

do a dry run so you know what needs to be done so you don't mess up in the video and have to stop and restart very annoying

Speed Demon

Exclamation Re: V1 Hardwiring Video

I have few dum questions... Need assistance

I found the fuse box in the car. Do I have to buy a add a circuit thru radio shack? Or can I do it w/o it. Is there is any particular add a circuit i should get?

I was going to plug the add a circuit in Radio - 20 amps. Or should I go with ignition - 10 amps.

I know the black wire is the ground - hook it up to any screw.

Look at 3rd pic - what are all those little parts? Are those any use to me. I know the blue plastic thing goes on the positive wire - snaps on (what's the point of this)

Finally i plug the positive end in to add a circuit right?

Thank's
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by newkid; 04-22-2009 at 08:24 PM.