Newcomer

Default V1 Newbie ... Some questions. (Long post, be warned)

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to the world of the V-1 and radar detectors in general. Just before christmas I decided that my clean license has been more due to good luck than anything else and decided to invest in a radar detector, after some careful consideration, the V1 had it for me. It's a brand new POP2 with the current version of the software (3.826).

I've reprogrammed the unit to suit our local conditions:

• NZ speed enforcement hasn't used X-Band for over 20 years now and there are no X-Band units operating hence I've disabled X-band.
    • NZ speed enforcement has been phasing out their older K-Band equipment ("hawk" radar) and no longer uses it. Although it's rumoured that some units do still use these radars, noone's seen a confirmed "K" bogey in about 4 or 5 years. Hence I've disabled K-Band.
    • NZ speed enforcement uses strictly Ka band radar, Specifically the "STALKER" and "STALKER PRO" units. Hence I've increased the reporting of Ka-Band threats (Option 5 in the programming).

I've done about 1000 miles of motoring in recent weeks and I've noticed that when K-Band is ON, I get so many falses in urban areas, the thing never shuts up.. this is not really a problem as I operate it with K OFF, but it was just interesting that it behaved this way... if I still had to use K-Band, it would be VERY annoying.

While I've been pleased with the performance of my unit thus far, I've got some questions and peculiarities I've noticed that you people might be able to help me with.

The first threat I ever picked up on the V1 was detected about 800m away and the V1 behaved exactly as I'd expected. Cruiser parked by the side of the road transmitting strongly. I picked him up and the V1 gave me plenty of warning and then told me as I'd passed the threat. The second threat I encountered, a speed camera, was picked up at about 600+m and the V1 reacted as expected. FANTASTIC.