Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Whistler XTR-330 Review?

Hey guys, Im pretty new in the Radar Detector field here and i just picked up a Whistler XTR-330. I was wondering if anyone has any background information on the product and if it is at all worth trusting. I know its not going to be anything amazing but its nice to have in the car. I mean it was between this and a cobra and from what i have heard, cobra are a joke and leak alot. So if anyone has any info on my RD. Just lemme know. Thanks!

Professional

Default Re: Whistler XTR-330 Review?

Is the Whistler 330, i think, the one with the rechargeable battery pack?
    If so, thats the one i started out with and quickly returned it for a refund and got a Pro 78SE and never looked back.

The battery thing made no sense in my situation as i had to keep it plugged into the cigar lighter to keep it charged. Not saying its not a decent detector but for a few bucks more, you'll get what you paid for.
    :

Banned

It doesn't have a rechargeable battery pack. I owned the XTR-330 until I stole it's speaker for my XTR-695! It worked great for the amount of money I spent on it...my biggest complaint was laser falsing that would force me to reboot the unit. It would be good enough for 5-10 mile over the limit but I wouldn't push it.

Yeah i wouldn't be doing anything over that 5-10. Everything seems to be working alright too. How good is the range on it and do u think it is better than the lower brand(but newer) cobras?

Banned

The range is surprisingly decent for the cost of the detector. If that's all you can afford right now, (times are tough), it is better than nothing. I would suggest saving up for one of the SE models as they can be had for $150.00 or less. I can't comment on Cobra's as I don't own one and that would be unfair. I know the higher end Cobra's have been getting decent reviews but they are supposedly not good with I/O or Q/T, (where Whistler's excel).