Thread: Pro 78..

Default Pro 78..

Hello, I am new to the forum.

Today, on the way to work, i decided to take a nice little side road shortcut, around a huge accident that happened on the main drag, and because i was running late, floored it. Bam, caught with a ticket from some cop (i skidded to a stop when he jumped in front of me and almost hit him lol)

Well, ive been saying this for a while, and finally i said , ok, time to get a detector.

Ironically, AFTER i made the purchase of a Whistler Pro 78, I sat down and found this website, and researched things a bit.
    It was definitely an appealing product to me: affordable(im a student), good quality looking product.. .
    Anyways, its the first one I've owned and it seems decent enough.
    I found a false area already by london drugs... and reading on here i realized its only the automatic doors. I can live with that.

I was wondering, other owners or people who are familiar with this model, what is the optimal location to mount it? I live in the city(City mode obviously? There are 2 city modes.. not sure what i should have it on for best performance), and have it positioned so the sensor is just above the wipers in the centre. Is this the best location for it? I have a dark vehicle, if that helps.

Any other settings i should be aware of? Will having VG-2 detection be hindering to the unit? or POP mode on/off? Anything else i should know about detectors in general? Thanks.

Yoda of Radar

A good little piece of information about mounting(this should help you out with that):

http://www.guysoflidar.com/detectormounting.html

Thank the 'GOL' (GuysOfLIDAR) for that information. You should look around that whole website, it will really help you.

As far as VG-2 you really shouldnt worry about it (unless you live in VA or DC where they are illegal...or other countries which they may also be illegal to posses an RD in).