PDA

View Full Version : Bel Rx65 Turning OFF and On

Brn Rice
11-22-2005, 12:42 PM
I'm pretty new to the world of radar detectors...been reading a lot on this website.

But for some reason...my Bel Rx65 keeps turning off and on in the middle of me driving. It's so unregular, that I can't even daignose it...on some drives it'll function normally and then other times after 20 min. it'll start going off and on. I tried cleaning the smart cord and the cigarette lighter...but still. It's pretty annoying.

ANyone had any similar experinece? Is it my car's voltage problem? Is there a problem in Rx65 itself???????

ES13Raven
11-22-2005, 03:18 PM
Turn on your RX65's "Pilot V" mode and watch the voltage. Does it fluctuate a lot?

If it doesn't, I would try a hard-wire kit (they are $10 from Roy) and see if the problem still occurs. If it does, and the voltage stays pretty regular, send your RX65 into Beltronics and have them take a look at it. :wink:

Radar Roy
11-22-2005, 04:07 PM
Bel Rx65 keeps turning off and on in the middle of me driving.

Is there another device that you can plug in to see if it does the same thing?? Cell Phone, radio....

compu44
11-22-2005, 04:27 PM
The way some lighter sockets are made, they can start to do that after a while. Try plugging something else in there that you can tell if it's going on and off. If that's the case, i'll try to walk you through fixing it.

Brn Rice
11-22-2005, 05:28 PM
So I switched the programming mode to "Pilot V" - displays the voltage.

And I went to the store...on the way there, the voltage pretty much stayed the same 14.0 - 14.2 V. The unit never turned off/on during this time.
On the way back, the voltage was flacuating a lot, from 12.0 - 14.2 V.. On the way back it turned off/on several times.