PDA

View Full Version : Trying to power up Golden Eagle antenna only



maxima lover
07-12-2010, 12:28 AM
I have a couple of Ka band Kustom Golden Eagle antennas like this one. http://www.lakotalawproducts.com/images/directionaleagle.jpg

I'm trying to find out which wires I can give power to make it transmit a Ka band signal. Does anyone have an idea?

Lucky225
07-13-2010, 02:56 AM
I have a couple of Ka band Kustom Golden Eagle antennas like this one. http://www.lakotalawproducts.com/images/directionaleagle.jpg

I'm trying to find out which wires I can give power to make it transmit a Ka band signal. Does anyone have an idea?

That's like asking how to make a Lil Wil CB antenna to power up 27Mhz without a CB. :p

kpatz
07-13-2010, 05:25 AM
That's like asking how to make a Lil Wil CB antenna to power up 27Mhz without a CB. :pNot true. Radar antennas have gunnplexers built in that generate the RF signal, and it only needs a voltage supply to do so. CBs on the other hand need the radio to generate the RF signal which then is sent to the antenna for transmission.

That said, I don't know the pinout. Do you have the Golden Eagle control unit? Try powering it up without the antenna connected and set it to transmit, and see which pins carry power.

maxima lover
07-14-2010, 01:34 PM
Unfortunately, I don't have the main unit anymore. I tried giving it 12V to the red and ground to the black, but that didn't work. I'm thinking it may not be 12V though...

radarrob
07-15-2010, 07:10 PM
Unfortunately, I don't have the main unit anymore. I tried giving it 12V to the red and ground to the black, but that didn't work. I'm thinking it may not be 12V though...show us the power Cord or what the wire looks like when you plug it in to power it up.i have a unit here i may be able to test the antenna or what ever your trying to do to get it work.you could possibly mail it to me and ill look at it.