PDA

View Full Version : Super newbie here..got a question.

c2sky
04-09-2006, 05:21 PM
hi, i am getting my whistler detector soon,so here is my question..
the radar detector will go off when it detect police cars right? so can i detect them even if they aren't shooting lasers at me? last time the cops were behind a bush and caught me running a stop sign..so..i am wondering if the detector would help ..

amoney
04-09-2006, 05:41 PM
the radar detector will go off when it detect police cars right? so can i detect them even if they aren't shooting lasers at me? last time the cops were behind a bush and caught me running a stop sign..so..i am wondering if the detector would help ..

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

A RD is NOT a cop detector... it only detects radar (laser if your lucky) when the police trigger the unit on (if it already is not in ConstantOn mode) and you rely on the scatter to pickup the officer shooting. That is why it is imperative that you understand the limitations on a RD and be smart and use a decoy (rabbit) ahead of you to trigger the alert (cop shoots the bunny you get the advance warning to slow), and most importantly, PAY ATTENTION AND USE YOUR EYES to watch the traffic for tip offs.

Oh and another thing, NOT ALL POLICE HAVE A RADAR UNIT IN THEIR CARS! Officer still can be hiding a looking to give out stop sign tickets, red light tickets, etc. Not to mention a thng called VASCAR (stopwatch timeing you over distance) and their is even VASCAR from the air called... AIRBORN VASCAR, you will be screwed.

allyoops
04-09-2006, 05:51 PM
The clue is in name of the Product.

Radar detectors "detect" radar

Laser Detectors "detect" laser

Laser jammers "jam" laser

Something can only be "detected" when it's physically there to be "detected" so you can't detect police cars. That's like expecting an RD to detect where all the green porsche 911 on the road are. Just not possible.