Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: my new 940

Newcomer

Default my new 940

after getting 2 speeding tickets, I finally listened to my friend and got invested in a radar detector. As a "n00b" I was planning on purchasing a crapbra on black friday (as there are always sales) but actually did my homework and glad that I did. Found that the v940 was a good detector for the budget and after checking out the GOL's tests I decided to puchase a v940.

I tested it around town and got falses (again im a noob and didnt realize that here in pa, local leos cant use radar for catching speeders, and only smokeys can). After testing it on the highway, I almost regretted buying it as I drove right past a smokey but it did not go off (he seemed to be fiddling in his car, I thought he maybe just was about to turn it on or w/e). Later, I got a weak ka but it was constant...looking around I couldnt find the leo until finally after a curve I spotted flashing lights way in the distance. It was at this moment that I knew I made a great investment, my 940 picked up the leo from at least 1 1/2 miles with a curve (although there was decent traffic). Later on however, I drove by 2 leos on the opposite side of the highway and it didnt go off so I was a little confused.

All in all, I love my new investment and hope it will serve me well until I can afford a v1 or something (i speed wayy too much, I realized I'm lucky and now dont speed as much---once I was doing 100 avg in a 65 and beat the gps' eta time by a good 45 min...yes Im an ex-lead/lead foot at times lol)

Yoda of Radar

If you are driving 100mph in a 65 you are an idiot and deserve a ticket.

Newcomer

Quote Originally Posted by davekr
    If you are driving 100mph in a 65 you are an idiot and deserve a ticket.
    haha i know but there was no one around me and i'm safe (i've yet to get into a car accident been driving for 4 years but i've driven in every condition such as terrible rain, fog, snow/ice, day night, you name it)