Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer

Default C100- Good but not Perfect

We just returned from a 4,400 mile road trip in the Corvette. Installed the C100 just before leaving; completely separate from my V1. Combining the two has produced gripes from some users and I've been using just the V1 for over ten years; so I left 'em individual. My opinions:

I didn't know there is a hardwire power cord available, would have bought it had I known because my Valentine is already hardwired.

The C100 has good reception, I simply laid it in the ash tray of the 'vette (2009) and it works just fine. That's a rather "buried" location for the antenna and I'm impressed that it works there.

The speaker is marginal, couldn't hear it with the top off the car. I don't think you can do much better because the unit is so small, what kind of auxiliary speaker would work with the headphone jack?

My biggest gripes are that the unit tries too hard to be helpful, like an over-caffinated waiter in a restaurant. Specifically; I would really like to turn off the compass, clock, and speedometer. My car already has those functions by itself and they are distracting in the C100. The "Concealed Display" for my Valentine is mounted on top of my steering column and simply glows a steady "L" unless it is detecting radar. But the C100 is constantly flashing different numbers at me and that's too distracting to put in my line of sight. Just give me a simple glowing dot to know the unit is working, and I'll be happy.

Misc info:

The C100 showed the Corvette speedometer to be dead-on up to 100 mph, at 150 mph the 'vette speedo was actually reading 1 mph slow. OK, now I know that; let me turn it off in the C100.

My wife and I have never had a red light ticket, camera or not, and there are plenty of them around here. But the whole "revenue before safety" attitude of the camera crowd really annoys me. Never been hit by a speed camera either, but why wait for it to happen?